© 2022 MTPR
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Montana News
Montana politics, elections and legislative news.

Three Montana counties approve local taxes on recreational marijuana

A pile of marijuana buds.

Preliminary election results show three Montana counties have approved local excise taxes on recreational marijuana.

Missoula, Park and Yellowstone counties each approved a 3% local tax on recreational marijuana, according to the unofficial results.

The local option tax on recreational sales will be on top of a state-mandated 20% tax.

Park and Yellowstone counties also appear to have approved a tax increase on medical marijuana, and Missoula narrowly rejected that increase.