Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Montana politics, elections and legislative news

Debra Lamm Joins GOP Primary Race For Montana's US House Seat

Debra Lamm's photo from the 2015 Montana Legislature website


A former head of the Montana Republican party is entering the 2020 race for the state’s lone seat in the U.S House. 

Debra Lamm is now the fifth Republican in the party’s primary race for the House seat, which the GOP has held for more than two decades.

The seat is currently held by Republican Greg Gianforte, who is not seeking re-election and is running for Governor.

Lamm was chair of the Montana Republican party during the 2018 election cycle and represented the Livingston area for a single term in the state House of Representatives from 2015-2017.

Lamm is closely aligning herself with President Donald Trump as she kicks off her primary campaign. In her announcement email Monday, Lamm said socialism is a threat to America and she will stand with President Trump to, “keep Montana and America Great.”

Other declared candidates in the Republican primary for the U.S. House are State Auditor Matt Rosendale, Secretary of State Corey Stapleton, Chairman of the Lewis and Clark County Republican Party Joe Dooling and Corvallis Superintendent of Schools Timothy Johnson.

Lamm did not respond to an email and a phone call requesting comment for this story.

Corin Cates-Carney manages MTPR’s daily and long-term news projects. After spending more than five years living and reporting across Western and Central Montana, he became news director in early 2020.
Become a sustaining member for as low as $5/month
Make an annual or one-time donation to support MTPR
Pay an existing pledge or update your payment information