Montana Public Radio

Poetry, Bodies And The Future Of 'The Write Question'

Dec 3, 2020

In the first part of this double episode, outgoing host Sarah Aronson chats with new host Lauren R. Korn about bodies, poetry and the publishing industry, and her hopes for the future of The Write Question.

In part two, Lauren puts Sarah in the proverbial hot seat, asking Sarah about her debut collection of poetry, And Other Bodiless Powers, about whimsy, longing — and what’s next.

About Lauren R. Korn: Lauren R. Korn holds an M.A. in poetry from the University of New Brunswick, where she was the recipient of the Tom Riesterer Memorial Prize and the Angela Ludan Levine Memorial Book Prize. She currently lives in Missoula, Montana, where she is the Director of the Montana Book Festival, the new host of MTPR’s The Write Question, and a remote reader for Goose Lane Editions’ icehouse poetry imprint.

About Sarah Aronson: Sarah Aronson is a Montanan by way of Alaska. Her debut collection of poems, And Other Bodiless Powers, won the 2018 New American Poetry Prize. She is the former host and producer of Montana Public Radio’s The Write Question, as well as the host of Shared State.

About And Other Bodiless Powers:

"And Other Bodiless Powers is cut from the same cloth as the poems of Lorine Niedecker in that they both read a landscape, down to its smallest aspect, and create from these thickets, fogs and skiffs of snow a human language. When Sarah Aronson zeroes in, the world opens." — Andrew Grace Author of A Belonging Field, Sancta, and Shadeland,

“Sarah Aronson’s poems cultivate presence. As if sculpted by the elemental forces of wind, rain and time. And Other Bodiless Powers gives form to feelings and ideas that can only emerge through deep attention to a world where 'what is torn/is also tender.' This thrilling debut renders a poetics akin to the warblers who 'hook their tiniest/songs to fog'." — Rob Schlegel Author of The Lesser Fields, January Machine and In the Tree Where the Double Sex Sleeps

"In this searching debut, Aronson carries out the essential 'sourcework' of looking deep into the intersection of landscape and self. What I admire is that such a confluence yields no certainty or dogma; instead, the poet gives us a vision rife with mystery and lyric invention. In the tradition of Gary Snyder and Lorine Niedecker, Aronson steps 'full weight/into a world,' and she does so using a language all her own. This is a collection to celebrate." — Michael McGriff Author of Home Burial, Black Postcards and Early Hour