Montana Public Radio

young readers

Game Designer Creates 'Rip-Roaring' YA Adventure Novels

Jun 14, 2017
Harper Collins

Ruby is a thief-in-training and a keeper of secrets—ones she doesn't even know herself. A Riddle in Ruby is the first book in a witty and fast-paced fantasy-adventure trilogy for fans of Jonathan Stroud, Septimus Heap, and The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates.

Ruby Teach, daughter of a smuggler and pirate, has been learning how to swindle and steal and pick the most complex locks for as long as she can remember. But a collision with aristocratic young lord Athen sends her spinning into chaos. Little did she know that her whole life has been spent in hiding from nefarious secret societies and the Royal Navy . . . who are both now on her trail.

Super Heroes Invade Sugarbeet Falls

Feb 10, 2017

Excerpt from Sugartbeet Falls, Volume 1:  Fantastic Friends, by Ryan A. Arca

Pops walked through the door carrying an ancient-looking chest that appeared to be older than both Xander’s grandpas combined. It looked like it weighed about half a ton, even in Pops’s long, strong arms.

“What the heck is that?” Xander asked, gaping.

'The Palace of Glass': Logan Reviews

Jan 24, 2017
Penguin Random House

The Palace of Glass is the third book in the The Forbidden Library trilogy, with possibly more to come, because I thought the series was very successful.

Misunderstood: Why the Humble Rat May Be Your Best Pet EVER
Farrar Straus Giroux

As much a moving memoir as it is an amusing pet manual, Misunderstood is a unique nonfiction book for teens and tweens about domesticated rats in general and a wonderful rat named Iris in particular.

'The Forbidden Library': Logan Reviews

Nov 22, 2016
Penguin Random House

The Forbidden Library, by Django Wexler, is the first book in The Forbidden Library series. It’s an excellent book and I enjoyed it immensely. The main character is Alice who finds out she is a type of person called a Reader, with a capital “r.” Readers like Alice can send themselves into books and capture the creatures inside of them. In order to capture the creatures, they have to defeat them first, then find a special mental thread they tug with their mind which makes the creatures just suddenly pop into existence. Some of the creatures she captures are Swarmers. They are little black fuzzball things that look cute, but have a penchant for blood. Kind of nasty unless you’ve tamed them.

'The Trouble With Twins': Logan Reviews

Nov 15, 2016
Knopf Books for Young Readers

The trouble With Twins, by Kathryn Siebel is a very funny, and at times suspenseful, book. The main characters are Arabella and Henrietta Osgood, two very nice girls who are twins. They were born on the second and third days of April. Henrietta was born a little before midnight on the second and Arabella was born a little while after in the early morning on the third. That’s how they can be twins but be born on separate days.

'Jackaby': Logan Reviews

Oct 25, 2016
Algonquin Young Readers

Jackaby by William Ritter is a very good book, and I loved it. The main character is Abigail Rook, a very smart young woman who is employed by Jackaby, a man who can see the “unnatural.” In the beginning of the story, Abigail gets hired by Jackaby. Abigail and Jackaby soon have to deal with seemingly random murders that just aren’t natural. The murders are unnatural because in some cases, some of the blood is missing.

Penguin Random House/Viking Books for Young Readers

This is Logan, here to tell you about The Charmed Children of Rookskill Castle, a book for middle-school readers written by Janet Fox.

Penguin Random House

Hi, I’m Logan, here to tell you about The Shadow Cadets of Pennyroyal Academy, a novel for young readers written by M. A. Larson.

'Supergirl At Super Hero High': Logan Reviews

Aug 9, 2016
Penguin Random House

This is Logan, and I’m here to tell you about Supergirl at Super Hero High, the sequel to a previous book that I reviewed, Wonder Woman at Super Hero High. Both books are by the same author, Lisa Yee.

Supergirl at Super Hero High also takes place at Super Hero High, but this time the story tells us how Supergirl becomes a super hero. The book is third person limited, which means, as I said in a previous review, you only see inside one person’s thoughts. The book is exciting, funny, and VERY suspenseful.

Pages