© 2022 MTPR
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

And The Winners Are...


CONGRATULATIONS TO THE WINNERS of our 50th Anniversary Short Fiction Contest:

First Place:  Eric Heidle, Great Falls
Second Place:  Michael Riley, Cody, Wyoming
Third Place:  Sabrina Holland, Helena

Our contest judge, Caroline Patterson, said "the stories were really excellent and picking a winner was difficult.  Many of these stories were  varied, rich in detail, well written, and richly imagined.That said, I picked 'At Jackson Creek' because of its tight, clear language and the way it conveys--in a taut, beautifully drawn scene--the story of loss of land experienced in so many places in Montana.

"My two runners-up are: 'Hoka Hey' [second placed] for its compelling story of recovery and loss in the context of a reservation AA meeting, and  and English/Language Arts-1: Story As Primer' [third place] for its unique primer-like structure that tells the story of growing up in Butte, whisky, stigmata and all."

Thanks to everyone who sent stories - so many wonderful stories. We received nearly 170! This contest proved, once again, that MTPR listeners are smart and creative.

Chérie Newman is an arts and humanities producer and on-air host for Montana Public Radio, and a freelance writer. Her weekly literary program, The Write Question, is broadcast on several public radio stations, and available online at PRX.org and MTPR.org.
Related Content