MTPR

literary fiction

"I think the first primal place to start is to recognize one another as human beings. We are not infestations, we are not illegal, we are not alien. . . We are human beings. " -- Shobha Rao

Novel Explores The Meaning Of Home

Apr 29, 2015

Call Me Home has an epic scope in the tradition of Louise Erdrich’s The Plague of Doves or Marilynne Robinson’s Housekeeping and braids the stories of a family in three distinct voices: Amy, who leaves her Texas home at nineteen to start a new life with a man she barely knows, and her two children, Jackson and Lydia, who are rocked by their parents’ abusive relationship. When Amy is forced to bargain for the safety of one child over the other, she must retrace the steps in the life she has chosen.

Pete Hurley is not the first person to have the idea that building his dream house in the country will bring him some kind of peace and happiness. But he may be the first to arrive in Montana with a World Series ring, a three-legged dog, and a thirst for self-destruction.

The Monsters Rule in Sharma Shields' Short Stories

May 29, 2013

Chérie Newman talks with Spokane author Sharma Shields about the stories in her collection, Favorite Monster, winner of an Autumn House Fiction Prize. Shields also reads two short passages from the book.

Gregory Spatz Writes Portraits of Darkness and Light

May 16, 2013

During this program, Chérie Newman talks with Spokane author Gregory Spatz about his collection of stories Half as Happy.

A grieving couple rents a desperate landlord’s house in an effort to recover lost intimacy. Twins are irrevocably separated by events both beyond and within their control. A nighttime prank and its gruesome aftermath forge human connections no one could have anticipated.

Pages